Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Gary Stacey elected Fellow of American Academy of Microbiology

Gary Stacey

Gary Stacey

Columbia, Mo. — The American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to University of Missouri Plant Sciences Professor Gary Stacey, a leader in the field of soybean genomics and plant-microbe interactions.

Stacey was elected as an AAM Fellow for his accomplishments in the area of plant-microbe interactions, especially as they relate to the nitrogen fixing symbiosis between legumes and bacteria.

Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. Seventy-eight scientists were elected to Fellowship in the AAM in 2010. Stacey was the only microbiologist elected from MU in 2010.

Stacey joined MU in 2002 as an endowed professor of plant sciences. He holds a joint appointment in the Department of Biochemistry and is an investigator in the Christopher S. Bond Life Sciences Center. He is director of the MU Center for Sustainable Energy and co-directs the National Center for Soybean Biotechnology. He is a member of MU's Interdisciplinary Plant Group.

Stacey is well known for his work on soybean genomics and symbiotic nitrogen fixation. His lab recently participated in mapping and sequencing the soybean genome, the first major crop legume species with a published complete draft genome sequence. He is recipient of research grants in excess of $12 million and holds eight patents related to his soybean research. He has authored or co-authored 160 peer-reviewed articles, reviews, and book chapters and has edited 14 books. He is currently editor-in-chief of Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions and serves on the editorial boards of three high-profile research journals.

Stacey is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. His other honors include the Distinguished Researcher Award from MU's College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources. In 2009, he was appointed to chair the U.S. Department of Energy's Biological and Environmental Research Advisory Committee.

The American Academy of Microbiology is the honorific leadership group of the American Society for Microbiology. The mission of the AAM is to recognize scientific excellence, as well as foster knowledge and understanding in the microbiological sciences.