Skip to main content
Skip to navigation
IPG 2016 33rd Annual Symposium, Heterosis:Working Toward a Genetic, Molecular, Developmental and Physiological Bases. May 25-27, 2016. Interdisipinary Plant Group, Univeristy of Missouri, Columbia, MO.

This symposium brought together scientists working on heterosis via several approaches - genetics, epigenetics, breeding, development, physiology, proteomics, metabolomics, organelles, apomixis and systems biology. The organisms represented will include Arabidopsis, maize, rice, tomato, wheat, sorghum, cowpea, cassava/sweet potato, and yeast. This unique convergence of heterosis investigators inspired new lines of investigation and collaboration among the participants to understand and harness heterosis in a predictable manner for crop production. (SCHEDULE)

Confirmed Speakers
  • James A. Birchler, University of Missouri
  • Edward S. Buckler, USDA-ARS
  • Jeffrey Chen, University of Texas at Austin
  • Luca Comai, University of California, Davis
  • Xing Wang Deng, Peking University, China
  • Liz Dennis, CSIRO, Canberra, Australia
  • Sherry Flint-Garcia, USDA-ARS
  • Stephen Goff, University of Arizona
  • Anna Koltunow, CSIRO, Urrbrae, Australia
  • Avraham Levy, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Zachary Lippman, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • Sally Mackenzie, University of Nebraska
  • Stephen Moose, University of Illinois
  • Leonie Moyle, Indiana University
  • Kathleen J. Newton, University of Missouri
  • Zoran Nikoloski, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Potsdam, Germany
  • Patrick Schnable, Iowa State University
  • Stefan Scholten, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Nathan Springer, University of Minnesota
  • Jianming Yu, Iowa State University
  • Dani Zamir, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Qifa Zhang, Huazhong Agricultural University, China
Organizing Committee
  • Jim Birchler, Ph.D., Commitee Chair
  • Sherry Flint-Garcia, Ph.D., USDA/ARS and University of Missouri
  • Elizabeth Kellogg, Ph.D., Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Paula McSteen, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Kathleen Newton, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Gary Stacey. Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Jacob Washburn, University of Missouri (Graduate Student Representative)

  • Mizzou Advantage
  • Monsanto Company
  • National Corn Growers Association
  • The Plant Cell

  • Conviron
  • Li-Cor BioSciences
Back to Top