Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

The 2022 Interdisciplinary Plant Group Symposium focused on "Enhancing the Resilience of Plant Systems to Climate Change". The symposium was held at the Christopher S. Bond Life Sciences Center on the Columbia campus of the University of Missouri from May 25 - 27, 2022.

The managed and natural plant systems that sustain human life on Earth face dire challenges posed by global environmental change. Increasing concentrations of atmospheric greenhouse gases since the industrial revolution have caused rapid changes in climate. Understanding how plants respond to the combination of elevated carbon dioxide, warming temperatures, increasing atmospheric aridity and more variable precipitation is crucial towards developing more resilient crops, and for understanding how natural ecosystems will cope with rapidly evolving environmental conditions.

The meeting program covered the breadth of these challenges and brought together experts at the intersections of disciplines to educate our community on the opportunities to develop mitigation strategies and to adapt plants to climate change. Researchers from diverse disciplines exchangedd ideas and developed new collaborations to address this critical problem.

  • Jaime Barros-Rios, University of North Texas
  • Kevin Cox, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • John Cushman, University of Nevada, Reno (virtual)
  • Gary Felton, Pennsylvania State University
  • Lianhong Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Sheng-Yang He, Duke University (virtual)
  • Tracy Lawson, University of Essex, UK
  • Steve Long, University of Illinois
  • Maureen McCann, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (virtual)
  • Ron Mittler, University of Missouri
  • Wellington Muchero, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Mallika Nocco, University of California, Davis
  • Theresa Ong, Dartmouth College
  • Christelle Robert, University of Bern, Switzerland (virtual)
  • Tom Sharkey, Michigan State University
  • Tom Slewinski, Bayer (virtual)
  • Christine Sprunger, Ohio State University (virtual)
  • Danielle Way, Western University, Canada
  • Jeff Wood, University of Missouri
  • Claudia Wagner-Riddle, University of Guelph
  • Ru Zhang, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center (virtual)

Sponsors and Exhibitors

Organizing Committee
  • David Braun, Ph.D., Committee Co-Chair, University of Missouri
  • Jeff Wood, Ph.D., Committee Co-Chair, University of Missouri
  • Felix Fritschi, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Abe Koo, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Ron Mittler, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Kyle Paddock, Graduate Student Committee Member, University of Missouri
  • Bob Sharp, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Lauren Sullivan, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Jacob Washburn, Ph.D., USDA-ARS
  • Ru Zhang, Ph.D., Donald Danforth Plant Science Center