Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

home information schedule register abstract

Speakers | Important Dates | Sponsors | Organizing Committee

The Interdisciplinary Plant Group (IPG) at the University of Missouri will host our 40th annual symposium on the topic of "Plant Hormones at the Intersection of Stress and Development".

Plant hormones play essential roles in development and regulate the interaction of plants with the environment. The focus of this symposium will be on understanding the roles of different hormones and their interactions in mediating the effects of abiotic and biotic stresses on plant development, to enable building resilient crops to meet future climatic challenges. Some examples include 1) involvement of auxin, ethylene, and abscisic acid (ABA) in altering root architecture in response to drought; 2) roles of auxin and ABA in signaling the effects of heat stress and drought on reproductive development and yield; 3) actions of ethylene and gibberellic acid (GA) in controlling stem elongation in response to flooding; and 4) interactions of brassinosteroids salicylic acid, and jasmonic acid in the tradeoff between growth and immunity during pathogen interactions. An optional “Hormones 101” workshop will be held on May 21st. Join us for many opportunities for early career scientists to learn about and discuss the myriad of interactions between stress and development that are controlled by plant hormones.

The symposium will be held at the Christopher S. Bond Life Sciences Center on the Columbia campus of the University of Missouri, USA, from May 21-24, 2024.

Confirmed Speakers
  • Martin Alcantar, University of Missouri, USA
  • Maheshi Dassanayake – Louisiana State University, USA
  • Mark Estelle – University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Andrea Eveland – Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, USA
  • Saskia Hogenhout – John Innes Institute, UK
  • Anjali Iyer-Pascuzzi, Purdue University, USA
  • Abe Koo – University of Missouri, USA
  • Barbara Kunkel – Washington University, St Louis, USA
  • Azahara López Jiménez, Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics, Spain
  • Michaela Matthes – University of Bonn, Germany
  • Poonam Mehra – University of Nottingham, UK
  • David C. Nelson – University of California, Riverside, USA
  • Tobias Sieberer, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Zachary Nimchuk – University of North Carolina, USA
  • Soyon Park – University of Missouri, USA
  • Brigitte Poppenberger – Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Pil-Joon Seo – Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Tobias Sieberer, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Dilkaran Singh, University of Illinois
  • Lidia Soto Pascual, University Jaume I, Spain
  • Tom Spencer – University of Missouri, USA
  • Josh Strable – North Carolina State University, USA
  • Jianbin Su, University of Missouri,USA
  • Justin Walley – Iowa State University, USA
  • Zhiyong Wang – Carnegie Institution for Science, Stanford University, USA
  • Ed Wilkinson, Duke University, USA
  • Gyeong Mee Yoon – Purdue University, USA
  • Yuguo Xiao, Donald Danforth Center, USA

Important Dates
Application for travel award due: April 19, 2024
Abstract deadline (to be considered for a short talk or speed talk): April 19, 2024
Abstract deadline (to be included in abstract book): April 26, 2024
Accommodation deadline: April 23, 2024
Registration deadline: May 10, 2024

Organizing Committee
  • Martin Alcantar, Graduate Student, Division of Biochemistry, MU
  • Norman Best, Research Geneticist, USDA-ARS, Columbia, MO (Co-chair)
  • David Braun, Professor, Division of Plant Science and Technology, MU (Director, IPG)
  • Andrea Eveland, Associate Member, Donald Danforth Plant Sciences Center, MO
  • Walter Gassmann, Professor, Division of Plant Science and Technology, MU
  • Sakil Mahmud, Postdoctoral Fellow, Division of Biochemistry, MU
  • David Mendoza-Cózatl, Associate Professor, Division of Plant Science and Technology, MU
  • Paula McSteen, Professor, Division of Biological Sciences, MU (Chair)
  • Soyon Park, Assistant Professor, Division of Plant Science and Technology, MU
  • Robert Sharp, Chancellor's Professor, Division of Plant Science and Technology, MU

  • Rosamaria Ingram, IPG Coordinator, MU (Logistical support)
  • Jenn Hartwick, Senior Conference Coordinator, MU Conference Office (Logistical support)

Back to Top