Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

In 2023 the Interdisciplinary Plant Group hosted host our annual symposium on "Redox regulation of plant stress and development" at the Christopher S. Bond Life Sciences Center on the Columbia campus of the University of Missouri from May 23 - 26, 2023.

The redox state of many different proteins and small metabolites in cells is directly linked to the cell environment, developmental stage, and levels of reactive oxygen species. Redox regulation is also tightly integrated with many important signal transduction mechanisms of cells, such as protein phosphorylation, calcium signaling, and protein degradation. Recent advances in redox proteomics, computational network analyses and modeling have shed new light on how redox regulation is involved in many important processes in plants that are associated with responses to environmental stresses, pathogens, and developmental programs. The meeting brought together researchers from diverse disciplines to exchange ideas and promote new collaborations to address this central concept in biology.

  • Dean Jones, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Xinnian Dong, Duke University
  • Richard Dixon, University of North Texas
  • Frank Van Breusegem, Universiteit Gent
  • Alex Costa, University of Milan
  • Tessa Burch-Smith, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Antje Heese, University of Missouri
  • Federica Brandizzi, Michigan State University
  • Won-Gyu Choi, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Yosef Fichman, University of Missouri
  • Fiona Goggin, University of Arkansas
  • Aardra Kachroo, University of Kentucky
  • David G. Mendoza-Cózatl, University of Missouri
  • Gloria Muday, Wake Forest University
  • Romy Schmidt, Universität Bielefeld
  • Lee-Ann Niekerk, University of the Western Cape
  • Shahid Siddique, University of California Davis
  • Sunghun Park, Kansas State University
  • Kyaw (Joe) Aung, Iowa State University

Sponsors and Exhibitors

Organizing Committee
  • Ruthie Angelovici, Co-Chair, University of Missouri
  • Ron Mittler, Co-Chair, University of Missouri
  • Norman Best, Plant Genetics Unit, USDA-ARS
  • David Braun, Divisions of Plant Science and Technology and Biological Sciences, University of Missouri
  • Tessa Burch-Smith, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • Antje Heese, Division of Biochemistry, University of Missouri
  • Rosamaria Ingram, Interdisciplinary Plant Group, University of Missouri
  • Trupti Joshi, Translational Bioinformatics and MU Informatics Institute, University of Missouri
  • David Mendoza-Cózatl, Division of Plant Science and Technology, University of Missouri
  • Shawn Thomas, Graduate Student, Division of Biological Sciences, University of Missouri
  • Tanmayee Torne, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Division of Biochemistry, University of Missouri